Missoula in Motion is now accepting nominations for its annual Transportation Best Practices and Commuter of the Year Awards.

Program specialist Drew Larson says the awards are Missoula in Motion's way of formally rewarding and recognizing local organizations and individuals that have chosen to "See Commuting Differently". The whole idea is to get working people out of their cars and walking, biking or using public transportation as often as possible in Missoula.

"We've revamped our program, in that last year we recognized a Grand Champion and various other awards. This year we will have several different levels of achievement with bronze, silver gold and platinum awards, and each of those will receive cash prizes," Nelson said.

The bronze winner will receive the highest cash award of $300 to bolster their sustainable programs, while silver will get $200, and then gold and platinum will receive free local media advertising, radio and TV commercials and those types of things," Nelson added.

The nomination forms are due by Friday, May 17, by 4 p.m. and the awards ceremony will be at Caras Park on Thursday, June 13.

Missoula in Motion's Drew Larson