The July 2 deadline to file for election to the Missoula City Council passed at the close of business Thursday at the county elections office, and only one race has enough candidates to qualify for a primary.

Lead Elections Clerk Mary Ann Lemons said on Thursday afternoon that Ward Two, currently represented by Jordan Hess and Adam Hertz, who is not running for re-election, is the only ward with enough candidates to qualify for a primary.

"We have council seats available for wards one through six," Lemons said. "So far, we have two people running for Ward One, Heidi West and Bill Murray. In Ward Three we have Gwen Jones and Ben Hart. In Ward Four, we have John Dibari and Patrick Weaselhead. In Ward Five we have Julie Armstrong and Chase Callen. In Ward Six we have three candidates, they are Michelle Cares, Rick Browne, and Michael Ellsworth."

"We have four people running in Ward Two," she said. "That's Anita Green, Harlan Wells, Jack Rowan and Aylinn Inmon. With four people running in Ward Two, we will be having a primary election in September."

The top two vote-getters will go on the general election ballot in November. Half of the Missoula City Council could be comprised of new members in January, 2016.