It's not that often that the preseason picks for these awards end up being the actual winners. But that is exactly what happened in Big Sky Conference Football Tuesday, when the All-Conference teams and MVPs were announced. Preseason pick and every Montana Grizzly football fan's pick Zack Wagenmann was named defensive player of the year. And Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Adams is offensive player of the year. Like Wagenmann, Adams was also the preseason choice.

Zack is one of 7 Grizzlies to make the first, second or third team selections. He is joined on the first team by fellow defensive mates Tonga Takai at tackle and Matt Hermanson at safety. The other Montana first team pick was running back Jordan Canada.

Second team offensive honors went to receiver Jamaal Jones. Second team defensive picks were linebacker Kendrick Van Ackeren and cornerback Josh Dennard. Linebacker Jeremiah Kose was a third team selection.

Congratulations, guys! Keep on showing what you got this Saturday in the first round of the FCS playoffs against San Diego. Remember, plenty of great seats still remain. $35 general public, $10 for UM students.